Vegan Alfredo Pasta Bowls

Some of my closest friends are vegan or vegetarian and the lifestyle has always been a fascinating choice to me. I can’t say that I would personally go vegan 100%  mostly because I really love animal proteins, but I understand and respect each and every person’s decision to eat this way. Cutting back on animal products is environmentally conscious not to mention great for personal health! I make a strong effort to keep meat products to a minimum whenever I can and recently started paying  much closer attention to how many of these products I use in my every day life. I was very surprised. They are hidden everywhere!

I make at least half of my entrees each week vegetarian. With the new year, I’ve made it my goal to try and incorporate one vegan dish into my meal planning each week. This weeks vegan dish is one that I have always turned my nose up to…cashew cream sauce. But let me tell you, this was fantastic. I had no idea it was vegan and it was extremely quick and easy to make.

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup of Soaked Cashews (see note)
  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup of almond milk (depending on your consistency preference)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • S & P
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice
  • 1 package of pasta
  • Veggie of choice (I used kale)

(NOTE: It’s important to soak the cashews in water for at least 12 if not 24 hours before using, this step is what makes the sauce so creamy)


Directions

  1. In a blender or food processor mix together cashews, almond milk, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, S & P and blend until it becomes a creamy consistency
  2. Cook pasta according to package directions and drain
  3. Sautee veggies of choice and add the pasta and sauce to the pot. Mix to combine and serve immediately.

If you’re not worried about keeping this dish vegan, it is great topped with parmesan cheese! (as seen in photo #1)

 

Leave a comment