German Spätzle

Lately, I’ve been feeling like my meal planning has been in a bit of a rut. I have an overwhelming amount of recipes in my repertoire but somehow they all seem repetitive.

In a desperate search for divergence I discovered Patrick’s family cookbook. A memory surfaced in my head from when the two of us first started dating. We were standing in the kitchen of my tiny apartment trying to decide what would be fun to make for “date night” dinner. He suggested making Spätzle! He told me that his mother, who is German, always made it for him as comfort food growing up. With the few ingredients needed already in my pantry we decided to try it ourselves. The experience was fun and unique not to mention something I would never in a million years have thought to create on my own. Almost six years later, we still only make Spätzle occasionally, but when we do, I remember how much I enjoy it.


The exact origins of Spätzle aren’t fully known but it is suspected to be of South German origin. These small, dense drops of pasta-like dough are perfect in soups or over any type of sauce. We use a pasta strainer in this recipe but I recently discovered this gadget on amazon that looks to make the process a lot easier and less messy. I also found that this recipe is easily freezable which makes it super convenient. I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups of flour
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • a pinch of nutmeg
  • 2 large eggs
  • ~ 3/4 cup of milk

Directions

  1. Mix together dry ingredients and slowly add in eggs, followed by milk, a little at a time until it reaches a wet but doughy consistency.
  2. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.
  3. Using a strainer and a spoon, scoop the dough into the strainer and press it through into the boiling water creating droplets of Spätzle.
  4. Cook for 5 to 7 minutes, then use a slotted spoon to remove and place on a paper towel to remove excess moisture.

 

Leave a comment